ENHANCED DWI ATTORNEY
AREAS DE PRÁCTICA
ENHANCED DWI IN LOUISIANA
The state of Louisiana is typically very serious when it comes to DWI charges as it is, but the penalty for an enhanced DWI charge is even more so. A DWI charge alone can result in jail time, fines, and the suspension or even revocation of your license and insurance. The charge for an enhanced DWI brings about similar punishments, only much more severe. This means higher fines, longer sentences, and harsher penalties overall. That is why it is crucial to your case that you hire a qualified enhanced DWI lawyer.
Those who have been arrested for an enhanced DWI in Shreveport or Bossier City need someone on their side to advocate for them and give them the best chance at reducing or dropping their charge. At the Oficinas Legales de Michael J. Vergis, we are committed to providing individuals with enhanced DWI charges with the best possible defense in the region. We work hard to ensure our client’s rights remain protected at all costs. To learn more about enhanced DWIs in Louisiana, read on. To get Abogado de DWI de Shreveport Michael J. Vergis working for you today, call 318-698-3724 as soon as possible.
What is an Enhanced DWI?
The general charge for a DWI—also sometimes referred to as a DUI or OUI—requires the driver to have a blood alcohol content level (BAC) exceeding 0.08 percent but no higher than 0.14. An enhanced DWI refers to the charge brought against someone who was caught driving with a BAC of at least 0.15 percent.
An enhanced DWI will likely cause a hefty spike in your insurance rates. This is because this type of charge tells providers you are a significant source of risk and a potential liability to them.
In addition to a BAC of 0.15 or higher, an enhanced DWI can also be given to someone who is driving while intoxicated with specific aggravating factors. What this means is that the person was found to be committing one or more additional offenses aside from the offense of driving while intoxicated. We’ll get into these aggravating factors below.
DWI vs Enhanced DWI
Aside from having a blood alcohol content of 0.15 or higher, there are other conditions that may upgrade a typical DWI charge to an enhanced DWI. One of these aggravating factors occurs when the BAC of a driver reaches 0.20 or higher. This will bring even harsher penalties than a typical DWI charge as well as an already enhanced DWI charge.
Another factor that may enhance a DWI charge is when a drunken driver has a minor in the car with them. The courts do not take well to drivers who expose a vulnerable person to such a potentially life-threatening risk. As such, your DWI will certainly become enhanced in the case that a minor 12 years of age or younger was present. Receiving multiple DWIs in Louisiana may also warrant an enhanced DWI.
What Do Judges Typically Order on a First Enhanced DWI?
The sentence and penalties for someone convicted of an enhanced DWI vary depending on the circumstances. However, these charges will always be more severe than that of a general DWI charge. For a first offense enhanced DWI, a judge will typically order:
- Fine between $300 to $1,000
- Between $750 to $1,000 if BAC is 0.20 or higher.
- Jail term between 10 days to 6 months
- Suspension of driver’s license for one year
- Two years if BAC is 0.20 or higher.
- Ignition interlock required for entire time of suspension if BAC is 0.20 or higher.
- 32 hours of community service
- Court-approved substance abuse program
- Court-approved driver improvement program
To get a better estimation of what your specific sentence might look like, schedule a consultation with our Shreveport-Bossier criminal defense attorney hoy dia.
How To Beat an Enhanced DWI
The stakes are high when it comes to DWI charges, let alone a charge for an enhanced DWI. You can be looking at consequences ranging from several months to possibly years in jail time, large fines, license suspension, community service, and more. It’s not always easy to beat one of these charges, but it can be done with the right lawyer on your side. Having an experienced enhanced DWI attorney such as Michael J. Vergis offers your best chance at negotiating a lesser charge or penalty, or even having the charges dropped altogether.
Michael J. Vergis has a successful track record for negotiating the best deal for his clients and ensuring they get off with the least amount of punishment possible. With an excellent reputation among judges, prosecutors, and court personnel, you’re in good hands when you have the Law Offices of Michael J. Vergis on your side.
Enhanced DWI Defense Attorney in Shreveport & Bossier City
If you or a loved one have been charged with an enhanced DWI, contact Michael J. Vergis as soon as possible. Your future depends on it! Give us a call at 318-698-3724 para programar su consulta gratuita y hacer que trabajemos para usted hoy.